Auto X newbie with a Stock Type-S [Archive] - Club RSX Message Board

: Auto X newbie with a Stock Type-S

blue03typeS
02-10-2003, 03:12 PM
I have zero racing experience and a stock Type-S and want to start auto X.
Should I bother making any mods to the vehicle?
Is it a bad idea to buy an intake or other power mod if I want to start auto X, since that will bump me to street prepared?
Are there any good mods I can make that will help the Type-S without changing my category?

Thanks.

davidshu
02-10-2003, 04:03 PM
If you are new to autocross, the typical answer is to work on the driver for a while. This where the biggest gains will be.

I definitely would discourage anything that would bump you out of stock class.

As for things to change, the biggest help will be from a decent set of tires.

blue03typeS
02-10-2003, 04:58 PM
I'd like to stay stock while I improve my skills.
What tire sizes can an RSX hold while remaining stock?
Tirerack.com lists the stock rims as being able to hold 225/45-17.
What's a good brand/size to fit on the stock rim that will still remain a stock classified tire, improve performance over the factory tires, and not cost too much (too much being over $650 or so for a full set)?

not your Type
02-10-2003, 05:24 PM
I've only done 1 auto-x, but here's my take:
- I'd keep the stock tires on. It's a great place to burn off that super crap rubber. Plus, when you get new tires (or any mods) you'll be able to gauge the difference.
- I'd suggest running stock cause I think I'd be fun to race other stock RSXs so you can compare drivers with all other factors being as close to equal as possible.
- I could be wrong, but I think any mods to your car is considered not-stock. I got bumped for a 1" drop.

If you want to get serious you have to go first. Maybe just try octane booster and lightening your car, then go from there?
:wavey:

mR.dnA
02-10-2003, 05:33 PM
LEARN HOW TO DRIVE FIRST.