P0122 - Club RSX Message Board
Go Back   Club RSX Message Board > PERFORMANCE BASICS > ECU Tuning
Use the same user name on Club RSX, Club EP3, and Club ILX!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2004, 01:54 AM   #1
i VieTEC
Master Member
 
i VieTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (13)
i VieTEC is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
P0122

I was driving on the freeway and I turned on cruise control, all of a sudden I got a CEL/MIL

Code: 7-1
DTC: P0122
Description: TPS Low Voltage

My idle is now at around a constance 1000rpm and would NOT go back down to 850rpm set by K-Pro. The car still runs smooth without any other problems. I just switched from stock spark plugs to Denso IK24 about a week ago. I put on a new drive belt yesterday because the last one got shredded. I don't think this is the cause but just taking a step back in time to retrace my modding path.

TPS % is supposed to increase as you step on the accelerator correct? At no throttle it's suppose to be at 0%? At no throttle my TPS% is -10%. When I step on the gas the car revs up and rpm climbs but the TPS% reading is still -10%. It is stuck there

Last edited by i VieTEC; 07-12-2004 at 10:57 AM.
i VieTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-12-2004, 11:11 AM   #2
i VieTEC
Master Member
 
i VieTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (13)
i VieTEC is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Help!!!
i VieTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 12:25 AM   #3
i VieTEC
Master Member
 
i VieTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (13)
i VieTEC is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Can anyone help me out?

Would the car go into "safe mode" if the MIL is on for a long period of time? Would it be harmful to the engine since I'm boosted?
i VieTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 12:42 AM   #4
conradb212
ECU Tuner
 
conradb212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 4,275
iTrader: (0)
conradb212 is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Do you have a Helm Service Manual? There is a lenghty 14-step procedure to test the TPS sensor. If you have the manual and a voltmeter you can check the sensor yourself. If not, I'd have it checked. The ECU relies on the TPS sensor for a lot of stuff, so not having that input could be bad.
__________________
Mods: Stage 3 Comptech SC, AEM CAI, Comptech street header, stock cat, modified stock injectors, Hondata K-Pro, Hondata IMG, Fujitsubo PG catback, cat, 225/45-17 Falken Azenis RT-615 on Kazera rims, Mugen SS, Quaife LSD, CT lightweight flywheel and street clutch, ACT heavy-duty pressure plate, CT rear sway/tie bar and titanium front strut brace, Type-R replica wing, CT short shifter, Auto Meter Sport Comp full-sweep boost gauge. Current results: 290 whp on DynaPack. Web: My RSX and K-Pro page. My Blog: ECU Tuning
conradb212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 12:51 AM   #5
i VieTEC
Master Member
 
i VieTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (13)
i VieTEC is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Yes I see the 14 steps procedure on page 11-68 to 11-70. According to step 8 and 9 I need a new TB. I have a supercharger on my base rsx. I want to take the car into the dealer to see if they would cover it under warrantee. Everything was running perfect and then out of nowhere this happened. So I don't think it's because of my mods. I also have to go to Jackson Racing this thursday. Very busy schedule with alot of driving so I'm very stressed and nervous right now.
i VieTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 04:03 AM   #6
Boost Junkie
Test Pilot
 
Boost Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Cybernation Motorsports
Posts: 462
iTrader: (0)
Boost Junkie is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Check your wiring. There have been some customers who had the tps sensor unplugged by accident or it came loose because it was not plugged back in all the way. Also check to make sure you have no shorts or opens in the tps line going to the ecu.

The reason I say try all this is because the TPS is part of the throttle body and is not sold separately. It is a high-ticket item.
__________________
"The beatings will continue until morale improves!"
Boost Junkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 09:59 AM   #7
i VieTEC
Master Member
 
i VieTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (13)
i VieTEC is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost Junkie
Check your wiring. There have been some customers who had the tps sensor unplugged by accident or it came loose because it was not plugged back in all the way. Also check to make sure you have no shorts or opens in the tps line going to the ecu.

The reason I say try all this is because the TPS is part of the throttle body and is not sold separately. It is a high-ticket item.
Connector is fully plugged and has always been. I will check the wiring. Yes if all else fails this can get very expensive
i VieTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 05:45 PM   #8
alphaSSmale
7 pounds
 
alphaSSmale's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 1,056
iTrader: (1)
alphaSSmale has disabled reputation
you shouldnt need a new TB because of a bad TPS. that is a seperate sensor that screws onto the TB.
__________________
http://members.cox.net/bheidemann/banner2.jpg
DIY Blacked out Headlights
AEM CAI
ES MM Inserts
Revo Gen2
CRSX Springs
Hayame Exhaust
Jackson Racing Race Header w/ Highflow Cat
JRSC/Race Edition @ 7PSI
-------------------------------------------
Kill List: IS300|CivicSI|300ZX|350Z|G35|Jetta GTI|
Integra GSR|Prelude|C230 Kompressor|Camaro Z28|
Porsche Cayenne S | MB CL500 |
alphaSSmale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 07:35 PM   #9
JMBare
I love Audi Junkie!!!
 
JMBare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,805
iTrader: (0)
JMBare is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boost Junkie
Check your wiring. There have been some customers who had the tps sensor unplugged by accident or it came loose because it was not plugged back in all the way. Also check to make sure you have no shorts or opens in the tps line going to the ecu.

The reason I say try all this is because the TPS is part of the throttle body and is not sold separately. It is a high-ticket item.

However, if you do end up having to replace the TPS, it is really not that difficult, the shear bolts, can be notched with a dremel, and them removed with a flathead screwdriver.. I have done it several times and can help you if you need...

It is possible that you may have bumped the TPS, during the S/C install, and caused it to come misaligned; this would reflect the weird voltage readings. I have seen this before..

Also, it is improbable, but possible, that you actually broke one of the shear bolts, during the install, and the tps has worked itself away from the Throttle body, allowing it to become unsprung.

When a tps is installed, there is a certain amount of preload to the sensor. if any part of the sensor is broken internally, it will no longer follow the pin which sticks out of the throttle body that turns the dial on the TPS...

The easiest way to determine this, is to turn the ignition on, get a multimeter and see if you get any sort of voltage change, when you open and close the throttle, if not, this is probably the problem...

Please keep us updated on this one...

-JMS
__________________
Moderator -> Turbo

Last edited by JMBare; 07-13-2004 at 07:42 PM.
JMBare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2004, 07:49 PM   #10
i VieTEC
Master Member
 
i VieTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (13)
i VieTEC is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Thanks for all the replies guys. The TPS is on there very securely. No sign of drama or damage physically. My TB was rotated 180 degrees and mounted on the JRSC. This is how you fit a base rsx TB onto a Type S JRSC blower. I will check all the voltage again this weekend. I am trying to contact the guy who installed it but have not gotten a hold of him. Jackson Racing has also agreed to take a look at my TPS while my car is at their facility to fix the belt jumping problems that many JRSC RSX are experiencing. Hopefully everything will be ok soon. If the TPS is indeed broken. Can I buy the TPS without buying the whole TB? Someone mentioned that it was not sold separately. Thanks JMS.
i VieTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2004, 02:57 AM   #11
i VieTEC
Master Member
 
i VieTEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,331
iTrader: (13)
i VieTEC is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
Notice TPS%
CAM and CAMCMD don't change...always at 0. Is this bad? I need to get this fixed asap
BEFORE

AFTER

Last edited by i VieTEC; 07-14-2004 at 03:09 AM.
i VieTEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
p0122

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer Notice
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2001-2012, Club RSX, Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
This website is owned and operated by Club RSX, Inc.
Club RSX, Club EP3, and Club ILX are not affiliated with American Honda Motor Co., Inc.