daughter board communication error - Club RSX Message Board
Go Back   Club RSX Message Board > PERFORMANCE BASICS > ECU Tuning
Use the same user name on Club RSX, Club EP3, and Club ILX!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2008, 11:07 AM   #1
06rsxts
Senior Member
 
06rsxts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 980
iTrader: (14)
daughter board communication error

I have a check engine light on my 06 type s so i checked it with kpro and two things come up. The first does NOT have a code...all it says is daughter board communication error (battery voltage low when cranking) and the second does have a code... (90-2) P1457 - EVAP control system leakage (canister system).

Im guessing the second code is from not haveing a catalytic converter even though I do have the defouler. I get this check engine light every now and then so I didnt think it was a big deal but recently when i would accelerate under WOT in 1st and 2nd gear vtec would actually cut out at like 5-6k rpm and come back in at like 7k rpm til redline. Third gear seams fine but I just dont understand why first and second gear are acting up on me...I appreciate any help
06rsxts is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-22-2008, 11:13 AM   #2
krystar
Master Member
 
krystar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Darien/Chicago
Posts: 24,853
iTrader: (9)
that second code isn't catalytic related. did u overfill yer gas tank? gas cap open?

1st code is low battery voltage or a bad board connection or a bad cable or something.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJCarbine
I have a 6 sheets of paper in front of me, all of them my fuel maps. I'm noting where to add and take away fuel.
This is the most work I've done at work EVER
krystar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 11:24 AM   #3
06rsxts
Senior Member
 
06rsxts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 980
iTrader: (14)
hmm maybe i possibly overfilled the tank...

any ideas as to why vtec doesn't engage properly?
06rsxts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 11:31 AM   #4
06rsxts
Senior Member
 
06rsxts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 980
iTrader: (14)
here are 3 datalogs i did before...1st and 2nd gear in one...vtec disengages at around 4k rpm...the other 2 runs are third gear pulls...i think everything is ok in the third gear pulls tho
Attached Files
File Type: zip datalogs.zip (33.8 KB, 23 views)
06rsxts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 11:40 AM   #5
krystar
Master Member
 
krystar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Darien/Chicago
Posts: 24,853
iTrader: (9)
check yer solenoid? oil level?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJCarbine
I have a 6 sheets of paper in front of me, all of them my fuel maps. I'm noting where to add and take away fuel.
This is the most work I've done at work EVER
krystar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 12:55 PM   #6
rensoyka
Breast inspector by appt.
 
rensoyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Continuum
Posts: 9,225
iTrader: (1)
the first code is for low voltage when you try and start the car. either your battery needs charging or needs to be replaced or you need to check the engine and ECU grounds.
the second code happens automatically with '05-'06 models because we use an '02-'04 ECU. the ECU is looking for an evap device that isn't present on our cars so it throws P1457. disable OBDII on K-pro or it will keep coming back, although it doesn't affect performance.
__________________
'06 black type-s.
rensoyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 01:59 PM   #7
06rsxts
Senior Member
 
06rsxts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 980
iTrader: (14)
hmm i thought i had it disable to begin with...i have to check...thanks!
06rsxts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 02:08 PM   #8
Danrsxtypes
Back to stock :(
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bergen NJ
Posts: 3,045
iTrader: (50)
Hey Rensoyka, do I still have to disable OBDII even tho I have hf cat?
__________________
Parts FS support my addiction
http://forums.clubrsx.com/showthread.php?t=854458

05 JGM SOLD!!
08 OBP sti hatch more junk in the trunk
01 OBP RS 2.5 rust bucket project
Danrsxtypes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 02:37 PM   #9
rensoyka
Breast inspector by appt.
 
rensoyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Continuum
Posts: 9,225
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danrsxtypes View Post
Hey Rensoyka, do I still have to disable OBDII even tho I have hf cat?
The hi-flow cat should keep P0420 from coming up, which is the CEL for no cat, but you can still disable it with the K-pro parameters as well. If you don't want the P1457 CEL to come on, you need to disable it, otherwise you will be fine by just clearing it whenever it comes up. Disabling OBDII with the misc parameters makes 4 codes not appear at all: secondary O2, ECU baro sensor, ELD and evap sensor. None of these affect performance as far I know, and you can clear them at any time if you don't disable them.
__________________
'06 black type-s.
rensoyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 02:54 PM   #10
Danrsxtypes
Back to stock :(
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bergen NJ
Posts: 3,045
iTrader: (50)
The code has not showed up yet, so i guess I'll leave enable.
__________________
Parts FS support my addiction
http://forums.clubrsx.com/showthread.php?t=854458

05 JGM SOLD!!
08 OBP sti hatch more junk in the trunk
01 OBP RS 2.5 rust bucket project
Danrsxtypes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2008, 06:57 PM   #11
Axix23
:)
 
Axix23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: JDM-Land
Posts: 15,352
iTrader: (8)
When your cel comes on, does your immboli light keeps flashing too?? Does it still let you crank the car up???
__________________
FORSALE: FS: ONE MINT 17x8" Gunmetal SSR Type-C-RS wheel, Black T1 Racing turbo blanket, NEW Tial 44m WG Spring(2.9psi), NEW Tial 50mm BOV 11 psi spring, NEW o2 extension, OEM RSX-S injectors with clips, pair of Digital h1 3k Hid bulbs, and NEW Gatorback 4070775 belt, PM me for prices....
Axix23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2008, 08:42 PM   #12
mo1113
03
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 135
iTrader: (10)
im having the same problem with the daught communication code when the light is on the car wont rev pass 4k when i erase the code everythings fine again, but the code returns after a couple days. looking for some help as well
mo1113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2008, 08:10 AM   #13
rensoyka
Breast inspector by appt.
 
rensoyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Continuum
Posts: 9,225
iTrader: (1)
read the first line of post #6.
__________________
'06 black type-s.
rensoyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 04:20 PM   #14
ddoouugg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 638
iTrader: (6)
I have the exact same 2 codes coming up in my 03 base rsx. I have kpro and prb mani and prb tb though. I should have the evap system correct? ANd the daughter board communication error? I don't see what that oculd be from. My battery is very new and I have not experienced any problems with grounding before. What do you think?
__________________
I like cheese!
ddoouugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 04:32 PM   #15
krystar
Master Member
 
krystar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Darien/Chicago
Posts: 24,853
iTrader: (9)
did you relocate the engine harness ground to the cylinder head?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJCarbine
I have a 6 sheets of paper in front of me, all of them my fuel maps. I'm noting where to add and take away fuel.
This is the most work I've done at work EVER
krystar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 04:44 PM   #16
ddoouugg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 638
iTrader: (6)
yes i did. It has been that way for a while and ther were no problems before now. Is that the problem?
__________________
I like cheese!
ddoouugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 04:50 PM   #17
krystar
Master Member
 
krystar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Darien/Chicago
Posts: 24,853
iTrader: (9)
wouldn't hurt to clean that ground and reconnect it...but if not that...then something else is going on. even though it's a new battery, have you checked your battery voltage w/o the engine running?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJCarbine
I have a 6 sheets of paper in front of me, all of them my fuel maps. I'm noting where to add and take away fuel.
This is the most work I've done at work EVER
krystar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 05:03 PM   #18
ddoouugg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 638
iTrader: (6)
My battery reads about 12.4 volts. I will clean the ground another time when the engine isn't so hot. I reset the ecu and I will see if the codes come back. I'm gonna drive it now.
__________________
I like cheese!
ddoouugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 01:24 AM   #19
craze89
ummmm VTEC!
 
craze89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,239
iTrader: (38)
im having this same problem as well and it is very frustrating. im stuck in limp mode until i clear it with my laptop. so i need to bring my laptop wherever i go when i drive my car. i sanded all the grounds so they are practically clean grounds and i also sanded where the grounds touch the metal on where they bolt on to.

i also have a fairly new battery and got it charged at autozone.

i dont think i have a failing alternator because when i checked my voltage on the batter with the multimeter it was always averaged to be the same throughout a series of readings.

unfortunately i forgot the readings when i did them ( yah i know i should have written them down..)

don't know what it could be either. but if you find the problem TS please let me know because it is very frustrating. ive been having the problem for about 5 months.

i even did the "big three" cable mod to change the stock grounds to bigger gauged ones and added the same size gauged wire from the chassis to the long alternator bolt.

i also moved the engine harness ground from the intake manifold to the valve cover bolt that hondata recommended.

i hope im not thread jacking TS but i beleive our problems are similar anyways
__________________
2003 Acura Rsx Type - S

Last edited by craze89; 08-28-2009 at 01:27 AM.
craze89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2009, 08:36 PM   #20
craze89
ummmm VTEC!
 
craze89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,239
iTrader: (38)
figure anything out yet TS?
__________________
2003 Acura Rsx Type - S
craze89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:00 AM   #21
ddoouugg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 638
iTrader: (6)
the ts hasn't posted here since 2008. If you're talking to me, I reset the ecu and cleaned my connection. The cel hasn't turned back on yet. knock on wood. I still don't understand the evap system code.
__________________
I like cheese!
ddoouugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 03:08 PM   #22
craze89
ummmm VTEC!
 
craze89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,239
iTrader: (38)
lol I guess I'm talking to u now haha. I didn't look at the dates of the posts.

what did you do to clean them? just sand the metal?

I've reset the ecu (unplug battery for quite some time) and cleared security through kpro as well.

I don't know what else to do though
__________________
2003 Acura Rsx Type - S
craze89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 04:26 PM   #23
rensoyka
Breast inspector by appt.
 
rensoyka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Continuum
Posts: 9,225
iTrader: (1)
http://www.hondata.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4877
__________________
'06 black type-s.
rensoyka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:49 PM   #24
ddoouugg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 638
iTrader: (6)
I just got the code for the evap canister again. Could this be from an installation fault while installing my prb manifold and tb? Is it just for emissions so it's safe to drive? sorry if its the wrong thread
__________________
I like cheese!
ddoouugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 08:53 PM   #25
ddoouugg
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 638
iTrader: (6)
I just opened my gas cap and a lot of pressure was released from inside the tank. Does this mean there actually is a problem with my evap canister?
__________________
I like cheese!
ddoouugg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
board, communication, daughter, error

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer Notice
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2001-2012, Club RSX, Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
This website is owned and operated by Club RSX, Inc.
Club RSX, Club EP3, and Club ILX are not affiliated with American Honda Motor Co., Inc.