How to replace o2 sensor - Club RSX Message Board
Go Back   Club RSX Message Board > GENERAL > Problems & Solutions
Use the same user name on Club RSX, Club EP3, and Club ILX!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2008, 04:27 PM   #1
burping
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)
How to replace o2 sensor

Hi all. Can anyone link instructions on how to replace on o2 sensor? Money is tight right now, and even though I am no car techie by any means, I would rather not had over 1000 to the dealership.

Any help/instructions are appreciated, thanks.
burping is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-08-2008, 04:57 PM   #2
VTEC_Inside
Mmm, 3rd lobe...
 
VTEC_Inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 10,401
iTrader: (0)
Its a pretty brain dead job.

Disconnect the connector, loosen the sensor, and reverse the process.

You will need an O2 sensor socket and a way to get under the car though.
__________________
Honda, The Heartbeat of Japan...
2006 Acura CSX Touring 160hp 141lb/ft
2004 Acura RSX Type S 6spd 200hp 142lb/ft
1989 Honda Accord Coupe LX 5spd 2bbl 98hp 109lb/ft

Slushies are something to drink, not drive...
Nikon Crew Member #23 | Gripped D700/D200/D80, 2.8 from 17-200
VTEC_Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 06:07 PM   #3
burping
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 19
iTrader: (0)
Ok thanks, sounds simple enough. Unfortunately club rsx doesn't have an o2 sensor for a stock 05 type-s...been looking around, is this what I need for the primary o2?

http://www.partsgeek.com/gbparts/200...ek+Google+Base

Autozone has it for twice the price

http://www.autozone.com/selectedZip,.../selectZip.htm


are they the same, I'm guessing the one Sensor located before catalytic converter is the primary?

Thanks
burping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 06:08 PM   #4
Willie133
Flying Cat
 
Willie133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 626
Posts: 1,405
iTrader: (16)
Why don't you buy the o2 sensor from CRSX?
__________________
2002 DSM 5SPD BASE RSX SOLD!
All SHOW No (Or Very Little) GO! Commuter Car Ftw!
ITR Lipkit All Around+Sidemarkers and Fogs
Injen CAI/Spoon Axleback w/ Type-S Midpipe/Header/Tein S-Techs Function&Form Type2s
SoCal Detailer... PM me for info
Willie133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 06:40 PM   #5
stylesp
Fuck you
 
stylesp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Everywhere you're not
Posts: 25,970
iTrader: (39)
make sure when you get it to tap it on the ground a few times to activate it
stylesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 07:42 PM   #6
VTEC_Inside
Mmm, 3rd lobe...
 
VTEC_Inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 10,401
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by stylesp View Post
make sure when you get it to tap it on the ground a few times to activate it
I don't get the impression that this guy would know that you are joking... lol...
__________________
Honda, The Heartbeat of Japan...
2006 Acura CSX Touring 160hp 141lb/ft
2004 Acura RSX Type S 6spd 200hp 142lb/ft
1989 Honda Accord Coupe LX 5spd 2bbl 98hp 109lb/ft

Slushies are something to drink, not drive...
Nikon Crew Member #23 | Gripped D700/D200/D80, 2.8 from 17-200
VTEC_Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 07:50 PM   #7
BD2002
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ↑ 49˚
Posts: 75,983
iTrader: (4)
ts will do it
BD2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 08:01 PM   #8
Extra Krispy
Mod God
 
Extra Krispy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CT
Posts: 131,350
iTrader: (25)
Extra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out more
Extra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out moreExtra Krispy is a super person....that needs to get out more
its easy but be careful with the sensor it is very sensitive do not let it hit anything. Just unplug the wire connector use a o2 socket to get the current o2 sensor off. Apply some anti-seize to thread of the new o2 sensor, screw it in till hand tight then give it 3/4 of a turn with the socket and a rachet. plug the sensor back in , all done
__________________
Premium Members Society. For all things Gentlemenly.

Extra Krispy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 08:45 PM   #9
I V-TEC Do You?
Boost Slut Krew Member#22
 
I V-TEC Do You?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LaGrangeville
Posts: 419
iTrader: (7)
you don't even need an o2 sensor socket...i believe it is a 3/4 inch wrench. just be careful not to strip it. but if you let the car run for like 5 min. the sensor will come out easier. and the sensor is also known as the air fuel ratio sensor, so if the parts guy says that its the same thing.. and it is located before the cat. good luck, you will do fine its a breeze
__________________
Turbo build show thread:
http://forums.clubrsx.com/showthread.php?t=671344
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I V-TEC Do You? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 12:53 AM   #10
VTEC_Inside
Mmm, 3rd lobe...
 
VTEC_Inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 10,401
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by I V-TEC Do You? View Post
you don't even need an o2 sensor socket...i believe it is a 3/4 inch wrench. just be careful not to strip it. but if you let the car run for like 5 min. the sensor will come out easier. and the sensor is also known as the air fuel ratio sensor, so if the parts guy says that its the same thing.. and it is located before the cat. good luck, you will do fine its a breeze
With the heat shield in position I can't see how you'd get a wrench on the thing.

I couldn't even use my crows foot O2, I had to use my deepwell.
__________________
Honda, The Heartbeat of Japan...
2006 Acura CSX Touring 160hp 141lb/ft
2004 Acura RSX Type S 6spd 200hp 142lb/ft
1989 Honda Accord Coupe LX 5spd 2bbl 98hp 109lb/ft

Slushies are something to drink, not drive...
Nikon Crew Member #23 | Gripped D700/D200/D80, 2.8 from 17-200
VTEC_Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 10:04 PM   #11
I V-TEC Do You?
Boost Slut Krew Member#22
 
I V-TEC Do You?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: LaGrangeville
Posts: 419
iTrader: (7)
lol your right..i have a race header so no shield.. but if i remember correctly there should not be a shield around the front o2 sensor..but i could be wrong
__________________
Turbo build show thread:
http://forums.clubrsx.com/showthread.php?t=671344
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I V-TEC Do You? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 10:27 PM   #12
manoptica
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
iTrader: (0)
need to jack up your car. it should be around cat conver
manoptica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:04 PM   #13
Agent Smith
It is inevitable
 
Agent Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NC
Posts: 10,000
iTrader: (1)
Agent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the top
Agent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the topAgent Smith is not even half way to the top
i can reach mine fine with an open end wrench... been nearly two years since i switched it out but i don't recall having trouble.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltMA70 View Post
The thing I like best about camaros is that they come new from the factory smelling like winston cigarettes.
S/C Crew Member #7 CRSX Zombie Eradication Team Member #10|Anime Crew 三番
http://forums.clubrsx.com/signaturepics/sigpic47170_1.gif
Agent Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2008, 11:06 AM   #14
wketchin
Seņior Memberish
 
wketchin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Simsbury, CT
Posts: 1,658
iTrader: (6)
easy as pie.
__________________
I don't drive fast, I accelerate quickly.

I produce music.
wketchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 02:23 PM   #15
Jerome81
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 294
iTrader: (0)
My pops has asked me for help replacing his.....does he need to get under the car or jack it up to get at the primary o2 sensor or can he get at it another way? Any other little issues?

He's a fairly handy guy, but he has huge hands. If he can get to the primary without having to jack the car that would be great.

If you've got a picture/diagram I can send to him it would be even better.

Appreciate it!
Jerome81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 10:41 AM   #16
JackandCoke
Master Member
 
JackandCoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Amherst, MA
Posts: 1,894
iTrader: (5)
get a dedicated 02 sensor and you will have to jack up the car...
I had to use some WD-40 to get the sensor loose
JackandCoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 11:07 AM   #17
stylesp
Fuck you
 
stylesp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Everywhere you're not
Posts: 25,970
iTrader: (39)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerome81 View Post
My pops has asked me for help replacing his.....does he need to get under the car or jack it up to get at the primary o2 sensor or can he get at it another way? Any other little issues?

He's a fairly handy guy, but he has huge hands. If he can get to the primary without having to jack the car that would be great.

If you've got a picture/diagram I can send to him it would be even better.

Appreciate it!
its under the car there is no real way to do it without
__________________
Yuengling Crew
stylesp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 11:21 AM   #18
sxy2003
Bundy :cry:
 
sxy2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mass
Posts: 7,466
iTrader: (4)
Make sure to use anti-seize compound on the new sensor's thread.
sxy2003 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 01:27 PM   #19
VTEC_Inside
Mmm, 3rd lobe...
 
VTEC_Inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 10,401
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxy2003 View Post
Make sure to use anti-seize compound on the new sensor's thread.
Most new ones already have it applied to the threads.
__________________
Honda, The Heartbeat of Japan...
2006 Acura CSX Touring 160hp 141lb/ft
2004 Acura RSX Type S 6spd 200hp 142lb/ft
1989 Honda Accord Coupe LX 5spd 2bbl 98hp 109lb/ft

Slushies are something to drink, not drive...
Nikon Crew Member #23 | Gripped D700/D200/D80, 2.8 from 17-200
VTEC_Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 02:06 PM   #20
sxy2003
Bundy :cry:
 
sxy2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mass
Posts: 7,466
iTrader: (4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTEC_Inside View Post
Most new ones already have it applied to the threads.
Rly? I had a little packet with mine when replaced it this summer.
sxy2003 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 04:21 PM   #21
JackandCoke
Master Member
 
JackandCoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Amherst, MA
Posts: 1,894
iTrader: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxy2003 View Post
Rly? I had a little packet with mine when replaced it this summer.
yeah that
JackandCoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 06:10 PM   #22
paulkramer
Member
 
paulkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 7,599
iTrader: (34)
www.rockauto.com - AC Delco direct-fit part for $198

or stealership if you're dead-set on Denso - but you'll pay ~ $300.
paulkramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 07:02 PM   #23
VTEC_Inside
Mmm, 3rd lobe...
 
VTEC_Inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 10,401
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sxy2003 View Post
Rly? I had a little packet with mine when replaced it this summer.
Every one I've bought has always had it already on the threads with a cap over the end.

In either case, at least its supplied with them.
__________________
Honda, The Heartbeat of Japan...
2006 Acura CSX Touring 160hp 141lb/ft
2004 Acura RSX Type S 6spd 200hp 142lb/ft
1989 Honda Accord Coupe LX 5spd 2bbl 98hp 109lb/ft

Slushies are something to drink, not drive...
Nikon Crew Member #23 | Gripped D700/D200/D80, 2.8 from 17-200
VTEC_Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 07:04 PM   #24
VTEC_Inside
Mmm, 3rd lobe...
 
VTEC_Inside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ontario
Posts: 10,401
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulkramer View Post
www.rockauto.com - AC Delco direct-fit part for $198

or stealership if you're dead-set on Denso - but you'll pay ~ $300.
The CRSX store has direct fit cheaper than that.

I only pd $260ishCAD for mine from the dealer.
__________________
Honda, The Heartbeat of Japan...
2006 Acura CSX Touring 160hp 141lb/ft
2004 Acura RSX Type S 6spd 200hp 142lb/ft
1989 Honda Accord Coupe LX 5spd 2bbl 98hp 109lb/ft

Slushies are something to drink, not drive...
Nikon Crew Member #23 | Gripped D700/D200/D80, 2.8 from 17-200
VTEC_Inside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2009, 07:42 PM   #25
paulkramer
Member
 
paulkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mid-Michigan
Posts: 7,599
iTrader: (34)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTEC_Inside View Post
The CRSX store has direct fit cheaper than that.

I only pd $260ishCAD for mine from the dealer.
?

OP said they don't have one in the crsx store and I couldn't find it - direct fit or otherwise.....

Sorry, guess I was high on the dealer price.........at least as far as the online discounted price goes:

http://www.hondapartsunlimited.com/s...hidIrno=%7C025
paulkramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
replace, sensor

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer Notice
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Š 2001-2012, Club RSX, Inc. All rights reserved worldwide.
This website is owned and operated by Club RSX, Inc.
Club RSX, Club EP3, and Club ILX are not affiliated with American Honda Motor Co., Inc.