DIY - Rear Pads Removal & Replacement - Club RSX Message Board
Go Back   Club RSX Message Board > GENERAL RSX > The DIY Garage RSX
Use the same user name on Club RSX, Club EP3, and Club ILX!

Old 11-19-2005, 02:18 PM   #1
Ju5t Ep3 Pr4ct1c3
Mountain Run?

Ju5t Ep3 Pr4ct1c3 is an unknown quantity on c-rsx
DIY - Rear Pads Removal & Replacement

I realize that these are not the exact same brakes as the rsxs but I believe that they are similar so this should help you guys out. Base guys here ya go!!!

This is a do-it-yourself guide for removing and replacing your rear brake pads on an 02 Honda Civic Si. I cannot emphasize how important it is that you know what you are doing. Improperly installing brake rotors or brake componets in general can seriously hurt or KILL YOU. Research before you install.

With that said, this is a DIY. I am not a professional mechanic but I have done this type of work before. This is only a guide this is not an instruction manual from a manufacturer. Other member's input is welcome in order to make this guide as easy and as safe as possible. Do not hold me responsible for an inproper install of your brakes, braking components, etc.

First you need to know the various parts in the brake system before you can get down and dirty.

Yellow: Brake Rotor
Blue: Brake Pad (what your are removing and replacing)
Red: Brake Caliper

Pads of choice for me were Hawk HPS brake pads. It would be best to resurface your rotors or at least sand them down with some sand paper so the pads seat properly.

Tools. The right tools make a hard job easy. The wrong tools make a easy job needlessly hard. You need the following to completely remove and reinstall your brake pads:

(FYI the "drive" is the opposite side of the socket. It is what your ratchet looks into. 3/8, and 1/2 Drives will be used)

(1) Jack
(2) Jack Stands
Choks or something to keep the car from rolling
(1) 1/2 Inch Drive Breaker Bar
(1) 1/2 Inch Drive Torque Wrench
(1) 1/2 Inch Drive Ratchet